Piano Waves M.Spanswick

Rated 5.00 out of 5 based on 2 customer ratings
(2 customer reviews)


In stock

Order this book and earn 7 Points


Piano Waves
were inspired by the composer’s fond memories of the sea in all its guises, whilst giving piano recitals on ships. Five pieces represent a plethora of modern Contemporary styles, combining wistful tunes and poignant harmonies, with various technical challenges for the intermediate student.


  1. Seahorse Dream¬†portrays the Seahorse’s initially peaceful slumber, but after a while, the creature is suddenly awoken by a vivid memory, before dozing off again.
  2. Waltz on a Sunken Ship is an eerie, underwater peek at a handsome passenger ship at the bottom of the sea, complete with faded yet elegant dining rooms and dance halls, depicting scenes of yesteryear.
  3. Ocean Surge reveals the power and beauty of the sea; the climactic cascades characterise the colossal swell of the waves.
  4. Asilomar¬†is a ‘refuge by the sea’; the overall calm, joyous feel of this work, might suggest a leisurely hot afternoon admiring the ocean from the shore.
  5. The Flying Dutchman represents a mythical ghost ship, always sailing but never quite reaching land; a shadowy, apparition of a ship, continuously moving on in the distance.

Piano For Fun series view > 

Click on the link to watch Melanie Spanswick playing on YouTube view >

This book cannot be photocopied.

16 pages
EVC Music Publications Ltd
Copyrights © 2016
ISBN 978-0-9935146-7-8

Additional information

Weight 150 g
Dimensions 297 x 210 x 0.05 cm

2 reviews for Piano Waves M.Spanswick

  1. Rated 5 out of 5

    Wen-Ming (verified owner)

    I absolutely love the pieces in this book, excellent for developing musicianship and discussion on compositional techniques. I can’t wait to give these pieces to my students!

  2. Rated 5 out of 5


    Piano Waves is a great book for students of Grade 4-5 level. Some of my students love playing fast note, many of the pieces on there such as Ocean Surge and Seahorse Dream is great for developing technique to play fast passages in a musical context. Furthermore, the pieces in this book are a joy to listen to.

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *